Latest Posts


Article Courtesy of Music NT

The winners of MusicNT’s 2018 NT Song of the Year Awards were announced during a ceremony held at the Museum and Art Gallery of the Northern Territory on July 7. The Awards were created to recognise and showcase the unique songwriting talents of Territory-based musicians, locally and nationally, as judged by high profile industry representatives. Arnhem Land’s Baker Boy took out the overall NT Song of the Year alongside cowriters Dallas Woods, Dion Brownfield and Jerome Farah for their hit Mr La Di Da Di.

All category finalists were eligible for the APRA People’s Choice Award, which this year was taken home by Darwin-based Matthew ‘Muxy’ Lim and August Alsina for their song My Day. The songwriting duo also took out the Native Tongue Award for My Day.

It is also the third year that the Tourism NT Territory Song of the Year has been awarded for the song deemed to have most accurately portrayed the culture and vibrancy of the Northern Territory. This year’s title was awarded to Paul Djolpa McKenzie for his song Red.

“The Awards celebrated songs that have captured the nation in 2018, from Baker Boy to Dr G.  The NT is represented on stages and radio stations across the nation and MusicNT is proud to honour some of the most exciting songs in the country,”  said Mark Smith Executive Director of MusicNT.

2018 NT Song of the Year Winners

ROCK: Bininj Kunborrk – Ritchie Guymala, Dillon Guymala

ELECTRONIC/DANCE: Not the Same – Rachel Younger

FOLK: Djarimirri – Gurrumul Yunupingu and Michael Hohnen

COUNTRY: Our own Backyard – Melanie Gray

URBAN/HIP HOP: Marryuna – Danzal James Baker, Yirrmal Marika, Dion Brownfield, Jerome Farah

BLUES AND ROOTS: I Won’t Sleep – Caiti Baker, Greg Baker, James Mangohig, Michael Hohnen

POP: Waak – Gurrumul Yunupingu, Michael Hohnen

YOUTH: Mr La Di Da Di – Danzal James Baker, Dallas Woods, Dion Brownfield, Jerome Farah


APRA PEOPLE’S CHOICE AWARD: My Day- Matthew ‘Muxy’ Lim and August Alsina

SONG OF THE YEAR: Mr La Di Da Di – Danzal James Baker, Dallas Woods, Dion Brownfield, Jerome Farah

MusicNT would like to congratulate all finalists and winners for this year’s awards and to thank all who supported the awards including; entrants, sponsors, volunteers, judges, presenters and industry representatives.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.